Part Two of 7 Chakra Series – Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana

Sacral Chakra: 

The second chakra or the Sacral Chakra is located just above the pubic bone and is responsible for passion, sexuality, intimacy, money, creativity, and joy. The balance of the Sacral Chakra allows us to improve our relationships with ourselves and others. It is associated with the water element and is characterized by movement and flow in our emotions and thoughts. It also supports personal expansion and the formation of identity through relating to others and to the world.

Color of Sacral Chakra:

The sacral chakra is most commonly represented with the color orange. However, since it’s associated with the element of water, it could also take the color of very light blue or white on more rare occasions. The orange of the second chakra is translucent and has a transparent quality.

The Shakti Mudra:

This feminine mudra for the sacral chakra works to harness sexuality and sensuality.  With your palms in front of your chest, press your pinky and ring fingertips together. Fold your thumbs into your palms, inside of your index and middle finger.

Mantra – VAM:

Vam is the bija, or seed, sound of the sacral chakra. When chanting the mantra, vam, the power of the sound vibrations is believed to cleanse this chakra, which is the energy center of creativity, pleasure, and sexuality.


12931900 – the sacral chakra

Yogis chant vam to heal the sacral center physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Mantras, particularly single-syllable bija mantras, are usually chanted for their healing sound vibrations, rather than any specific meaning. Chakra mantras like vam are thought to clear the subtle energy pathways in the body in order to create positive change.

Be the first to reply

Leave a Reply