Part One of 7 Chakra Series – Root Chakra or Muladhara


Hi there my beautiful lovelies! Hope you guys are doing well and staying safe. Today, I will talk about the chakra system. Subtle energies flow in and out of us through the chakras, also known as the psychic centers. The spine is like a stem and the chakras are like flowers growing from this stem, through the body, and out a few inches in front of the body, in the aura. Our thinking and our health are inextricably linked with the flow of energy through the chakras, which makes an understanding of them very important. Today, will talk about opening up the first of the 7 chakra series.


The Seven Chakras:

The seven major chakras are as follows:

  1. Root Chakra:  Located at the base of the spine, the pelvic floor, and the first three vertebrae, the root chakra or Muladhara is responsible for your sense of safety and security on this earthly journey.
  2. Sacral Chakra: Located between the base of the spine and naval is the sacral chakra or Svadhishthana. It is associated with the emotional body, sensuality, and creativity. Its element is water and as such, its energy is characterized by flow and flexibility. The function of the sacral chakra is directed by the principle of pleasure.
  3. Social Plexus Chakra: In the solar plexus area (upper part of the belly, where your diaphragm rests); it is the third chakra from the bottom in the traditional system counting 7 chakras. Solar plexus or Manipura is associated with will, personal power, taking responsibility for one’s life, taking control. The third chakra is the center of willpower. While the Sacral chakra seeks pleasure and enjoyment, the third chakra is all about the perception of who you are.
  4. Heart Chakra or Antahara Chakra: Driven by the principles of transformation and integration, the fourth energy center is said to bridge earthly and spiritual aspirations. Explore what makes the essence of this chakra and how to unravel its powerful energy to enrich your life. Located in the center of the chest (the energy center is not located where our actual heart organ lies; rather, the heart chakra is in the center of the chest area); it is the 4th chakra counting from the bottom of the spine in the traditional 7 chakra system.
  5. Throat Chakra: The Throat chakra or Vishuddha is the fifth chakra. Located at the center of the neck at the level of the throat, it is the passage of the energy between the lower parts of the body and the head. The function of the Throat chakra is driven by the principle of expression and communication.
  6. Third Eye Chakra: The sixth chakra – also known as the brow chakra, the Third Eye chakra, the inner eye, or “Ajna” in Sanskrit – correlates to our mental abilities, psychological skills, and how we evaluate beliefs and attitudes. Sitting between our eyes and being physically connected to the brain, pituitary, and pineal glands, this is the mind chakra. It resonates with the energy of our psyche, as well as our conscious and unconscious psychological tendencies.
  7. Crown Chakra:


Root Chakra or Muladhara: 

The word Muladhara breaks down into two Sanskrit words: Mula meaning “root” and Adhara, which means “support” or “base.” This is the first of the seven chakras. The Sanskrit word chakra translates to a wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras that align along the spine, starting from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. The spheres run along the spine, but extend through and past the front, back, and both sides of your body. The root chakra is comprised of whatever grounds you to stability in your life. This includes your basic needs such as food, water, shelter, and safety, as well as your more emotional needs such as letting go of fear. When these needs are met, you feel grounded and safe, and you tend to worry less day to day.


While meditation does connect you to a higher spiritual plane, it also serves to ground you. You may not always be able to trust that the world will give you what you need to survive, but the connection to your higher self and trust in a power higher than yourself will give you what you need to feel safe. In addition, our bodies and everything in the universe is made of 5 elements: earth, water, fire, air, and space. Each finger is also associated with one of these elements. Fire – the thumb relates to the fire element, connected to the solar plexus chakra. Air – the index finger represents the air element, connected to the heart chakra. Space – the middle finger represents the space element, connected to the throat chakra. Earth – the ring finger represents the earth element, connected to the root chakra. Water – the pinky finger represents the water element, connected to the sacral chakra. Yoga mudras are energetic closures or gestures made with our hands and fingers to help direct the flow of energy within the body, stimulating specific areas of the body and the brain. It’s helpful to use mudras along with meditation, pranayama, and asana postures to promote healing and balance in the body, between the elements and the chakras. The Earth element is connected to our physical bones, cartilage, skin, hair, nails, muscles, tendons, and internal organs, stimulating and strengthening these tissues and bones.

Pran Mudra: 

Pran Mudra, also called prana mudra, is a symbolic hand and figure gesture that represents the life force. It is believed performing this mudra stimulates your first (root) chakra and activates the flow of life force. How to Perform Performing this mudra is a simple process. Sit comfortably. Touch the tips of both thumbs to the ring finger and pinkie of each hand. Extend the pointer finger and middle finger straight out. Place your hand in the mudra with the backs of your hands in your lap. Hold the mudra for three to five minutes. You can also hold it longer during meditation. Chanting or toning sounds can also help bring you back to balance just like music brings people together. Sounds create vibrations in the body, and these vibrations help the cells work together in synchronistic harmony.

Lam Mantra: 

The mantra sound that corresponds to the root chakra is LAM. Finally, colors and gems can help bring a chakra into balance. The root chakra’s color is red. Gemstones for the first chakra include garnet, red jasper, black tourmaline, and bloodstone.

In the meantime, don’t forget to check out my Facebook Page and follow me on Instagram @forevernij and Twitter page @allaboutme3181. Are you on Bloglovin?  Also please subscribe to my YouTube channel. Let’s support each other. Please follow me and comment below with your information so that I can follow you back.

Thank you2

———————————–   Happy Reading ———————————-

Follow my Instagram page on @forevernij

Follow my blog on Bloglovin

Follow my Facebook Page on @forevernij

Subscribe to my YouTube channel

Follow my Twitter account @allaboutme3181

Be the first to reply

Leave a Reply